

State Conservation Committee

PO Box 2042 • Concord NH 03302-2042 nh.gov/SCC

The State Conservation Committee entered non-public session at its meeting on Thursday, November 17th, 2022.

Minutes of Non-public Session

November 18th, 2022 NH Department of Natural and Cultural Resources, 172 Pembroke Rd. Concord, NH

Pete Throop made a motion to enter non-public session in accordance with RSA 91A:3 II (l), to consider legal advice. Sabrina Stanwood seconded. Roll call vote.

- S. Stanwood (NH-DNCR)-Aye
- L. Sommer (NH-DES)-Ave
- B. Richter (NHACC)-Aye
- R. Lutz (Rockingham and Strafford CCD)-Ave
- B. McNaughten (NHF&G)-Aye
- P. Throop (Cheshire and Sullivan CCD)-Aye
- A. Gaudreau (UNH Coop. Ext.)-Aye
- A. Bekkerman (NHAES)-Aye
- D. Hepp (Belknap and Carroll CCD, present via Zoom)-Aye

Non-public session was entered at 9:20AM. Ian Hanley (SCC Executive Director) and Dea Brickner-Wood (Conservation License Plate Grant Coordinator) were asked to remain in attendance.

Dea Brickner-Wood presented legal advice given to the Committee by the Attorney General's Office regarding the status of applications as public or non-public documents. Discussion followed about a need for a policy to clarify this point in accordance with state law. The Committee considered legal advice regarding a draft policy on the subject. No vote was taken on the subject in non-public session.

Dea Bricker-Wood presented legal advice given to the Committee by the Attorney General's Office regarding the consideration of extraneous information submitted to the Grant Coordinator or Committee related to Conservation License Plate Grant applications. *Extraneous information* was defined to include "information and/or communications separate from the submitted application,"

and received from the applicant and/or other parties either in support or not in support of the application." Discussion followed about the need for a policy and consideration of a draft policy that received feedback from the Attorney General's Office. No vote was taken on the subject in non-public session.

Sabrina Stanwood made a motion to leave non-public session. Betsey McNaughten seconds. Roll call vote.

- S. Stanwood- Aye
- L. Sommer-Aye
- B. Richter-Aye
- R. Lutz- Aye
- S. Jasper (NH-DAMF)- Aye
- B. McNaughten- Aye
- P. Throop- Aye
- A. Gaudreau- Aye
- A. Bekkerman- Aye
- D. Hepp (Zoom)-Aye

Deblois (Coos and Grafton CCD, present via Zoom)-Aye

The Committee left non-public session at 9:47AM.

This concludes the draft minutes of the November 17th, 2022 non-public session of the State Conservation Committee.