New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food Logo
NH Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

About Us

Since 1946, the State Conservation Committee, a State of New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food affiliate, has provided conservation leadership, guidance, and oversight for the ten county Conservation Districts.

erosiion control

The State Conservation Committee (SCC) confirms Conservation District Supervisors; coordinates the Districts' work and fosters coordination with other natural resource state and federal agencies, organizations; and the legislature. The SCC receives a portion of the Conservation license Plate (Moose Plate) funds and distributes the funds in grants that support conservation activities.

Who We Are

Agency Members:

NH Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food
Shawn N. Jasper, Commissioner
Designee: Jennifer Z. Gornnert
25 Capitol Street
PO Box 2042
Concord NH 03302-2042
Telephone: (603) 271-7761; Fax: (603) 271-1109

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources
Sarah L. Stewart, Commissioner
Designee: Sabrina Stanwood
172 Pembroke Road
Concord NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-2214

UNH Cooperative Extension
Ken La Valley, Director
Designee: Amanda Stone
Taylor Hall, UNH
Durham NH 03824
Telephone: (603) 862-2619; Fax: (603) 862-1585

Agricultural Experiment Station
Anthony Davis, Dean
Designee: Theodore Howard
College of Life Sciences and Agriculture
Rudman Hall
46 College Rd
Durham NH 03824-2617
Telephone: (603) 862.1453; Fax: (603) 862.1096

NH Department of Environmental Services
Robert R. Scott, Commissioner
Designee: Lori Sommer, Mitigation Coordinator, Wetlands Bureau
29 Hazen Dr
Concord NH 03302-0095
Telephone: (603) 271-4059; Fax: (603) 271-6588

NH Department of Fish and Game
Scott Mason, Executive Director
Designee: Betsey McNaughten
11 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-6640; Fax: (603) 271.1438

NH Association of Conservation Commissions
Barbara Richter, Executive Director
54 Portsmouth St
Concord NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 224-7867; Fax: (603) 228-0423

Appointed Members

Belknap and Carroll Counties
Donna Hepp, Chair
c/o Belknap County Conservation District,
64 Court St.
Laconia, NH 03246
Term expires: August 1, 2021

Coos and Grafton Counties
Scott Deblois
c/o Coos County Conservation District
4 Mayberry Lane
Lancaster, NH 03584
Telephone: (603) 788-4651 Ext. 5
Term expires: August 1, 2023

Hillsborough and Merrimack Counties
Audra Klumb
c/o Merrimack County Conservation District
10 Ferry St., Ste. 211
Concord, NH 03301
Term expires: August 1, 2021

Rockingham and Strafford Counties
Richard Lutz
c/o Rockingham County Conservation District
110 North Rd.
Brentwood, NH 03833
Term expires: August 1, 2023

Sullivan and Cheshire Counties
Pete Throop, Vice Chair
c/o Cheshire County Conservation District
11 Industrial Park
Walpole, NH 03608
Telephone: (603) 756-2988, ext. 4
Term expires: August 1, 2021

Advisory Members

Becky Ross, State Conservationist
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
273 Locust Street, Suite 2D
Dover NH 03820
Telephone: (603) 868-7581; Fax: 868-5301

Vacant, State Executive Director
USDA Farm Service Agency
Designee: Marilyn Milne
53 Pleasant Street, Room 1601
Concord, NH 03301-3958
Telephone: (603) 224-7941 Fax: 855-428-0330


K. Allen Brooks, Senior Assistant Attorney General
NH Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301-6312
Telephone: (603) 271-3679

NH Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food
Mailing: PO Box 2042, Concord NH 03302 -2042
Physical: 25 Capitol Street, Second Floor, Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3551 | fax: (603) 271-1109