New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food Logo
NH Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Environmental Protection Program

The environmental protection program embodies those activities undertaken by the Division to protect the state's environment from contamination by pesticides.

Activities include the development and administration of efforts to meet federal and state requirements for water protection, the design and implementation of monitoring programs to assess the impact of pesticides and management programs on water quality, reviewing special permit applications and imposing conditions to minimize risk of pesticide contamination, participating in other state programs relative to the protection of human health and the environment, for example, the source-water protection program administered by the NH Department of Environmental Services, and conducting outreach and education in matters pertaining to pesticides and the environment.

 

Pollinator Protection

Pollination is the transfer of pollen from a male part of a plant to a female part of a plant. There are many living things that carry pollen including managed honey bees, native bees, wasps, birds, bats, beetles, butterflies, moths, flies, and other insects.  Pollinator protection is a consideration when choosing to use a pesticide.  Following the product label when using a pesticide is required and the label may contain specific information in regard to pollinators.  There are a number of resources in regard to pollinator protection and pesticides.  The following resources are provided for a number of different reasons including considering pesticide use, attracting pollinators and providing pollinator habitat:

Resources

United States Environmental Protection Agency https://www.epa.gov/pollinator-protection

Pesticide Environmental Stewardship  https://pesticidestewardship.org/pollinator-protection/pesticide-applicator-bmps/

University of New Hampshire Cooperative Extension Resources:

Bees and Their Habitats in Four New England States [bulletin] https://extension.unh.edu/resource/bees-and-their-habitats-four-new-england-states-bulletin

Simple Ways to Help Pollinators https://extension.unh.edu/blog/simple-ways-help-pollinators

Pollinator Plants for Northern New England Gardens [fact sheet] https://extension.unh.edu/resource/pollinator-plants-northern-new-england-gardens-fact-sheet

Wildflower Meadows – Plant Selection and Establishment https://extension.unh.edu/resource/wildflower-meadows-plant-selection-and-establishment

Bee Nest Box Guidelines https://extension.unh.edu/resource/bee-nest-box-guidelines

Pollinator Habitats https://extension.unh.edu/tags/pollinator-habitats

Ten Things To Do To Save The Bees https://extension.unh.edu/resource/ten-things-do-save-bees

 

Portable Document Format SymbolPortable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


NH Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food
Mailing: PO Box 2042, Concord NH 03302 -2042
Physical: 25 Capitol Street, Second Floor, Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3551 | fax: (603) 271-1109