New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food Logo
NH Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

About Us

Since 1946, the State Conservation Committee, a State of New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food affiliate, has provided conservation leadership, guidance, and oversight for the ten county Conservation Districts.

erosiion control

The State Conservation Committee (SCC) confirms Conservation District Supervisors; coordinates the Districts' work and fosters coordination with other natural resource state and federal agencies, organizations; and the legislature. The SCC receives a portion of the Conservation license Plate (Moose Plate) funds and distributes the funds in grants that support conservation activities.

Who We Are

Agency Members:

NH Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food
Lorraine S. Merrill, Commissioner
Designee: Jennifer Z. Gornnert
25 Capitol Street
PO Box 2042
Concord NH 03302-2042
Telephone: (603) 271-7761; Fax: (603) 271-1109
email: jennifer.gornnert@agr.nh.gov

Department of Resources and Economic Development
Jeffrey J. Rose, Commissioner
Designee: Sabrina Stanwood
172 Pembroke Road
Concord NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-2214
email: sabrina.stanwood@dred.nh.gov

UNH Cooperative Extension
Ken La Valley, Director
Designee: Amanda Stone
Taylor Hall, UNH
Durham NH 03824
Telephone: (603) 862-2619; Fax: (603) 862-1585
email: amanda.stone@unh.edu

Agricultural Experiment Station
Jon Wraith, Dean
Designee: Theodore Howard
College of Life Sciences and Agriculture
Rudman Hall
46 College Rd
Durham NH 03824-2617
Telephone: (603) 862.1453; Fax: (603) 862.1096
email: ted.howard@unh.edu

NH Department of Environmental Services
Thomas S. Burack, Commissioner
Designee: Lori Sommer, Mitigation Coordinator, Wetlands Bureau
29 Hazen Dr
Concord NH 03302-0095
Telephone: (603) 271-4059; Fax: (603) 271-6588
email: lori.sommer@des.nh.gov

NH Department of Fish and Game
Glenn Normandeau, Executive Director
Designee: Richard Cook
11 Hazen Dr
Concord, NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 271-1123; Fax: (603) 271.1438
email: richard.cook@wildlife.nh.gov

NH Association of Conservation Commissions
Barbara Richter, Executive Director
54 Portsmouth St
Concord NH 03301
Telephone: (603) 224-7867; Fax: (603) 228-0423
barbara@nhacc.org

Appointed Members

Belknap and Carroll Counties
Earle L. Chase
204 Shackford Corner Rd.
Center Barnstead, NH 03225
Telephone: (603) 269-5665; Cell: (603) 833-9125
email: earle@tds.net

Coos and Grafton Counties
Linda Brownson
251 Cape Moonshine Road
Wentworth, NH 03282
Telephone: (603) 764-5576; Fax: 764-9102
email: brownson@earthlink.net

Hillsborough and Merrimack Counties
Jack Parker
5 Falcon Drive
Merrimack, NH 03054
Telephone: (603) 377-7496
email: hookroll@aol.com

Rockingham and Strafford Counties
Robert Goodrich
321 Portsmouth Avenue
Stratham, NH 03885
Telephone: (603) 436-7978
email: bobsaltboxfarm1@myfairpoint.net

Sullivan and Cheshire Counties
Pete Throop
15 Beech Street
Keene, NH 03431
Telephone: (603) 924-8000, ext. 104
email: pthroop@townofpeterborough.us

Advisory Members

Rick Ellsmore, State Conservationist
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
273 Locust Street, Suite 2D
Dover NH 03820
Telephone: (603) 8687581; Fax: 868.5301
email: rick.ellsmore@nh.usda.gov

Vacant, State Executive Director
USDA Farm Service Agency
Designee: Marilyn Milne
53 Pleasant Street, Room 1601
Concord, NH 03301-3958
Telephone: (603) 224-7941; Fax: 855-428-0330 fax
email: marilyn.milne@nh.usda.gov

Counsel

K. Allen Brooks, Senior Assistant Attorney General
NH Department of Justice
33 Capitol Street
Concord, NH 03301-6312
Telephone: (603) 271-3679
allen.brooks@doj.nh.gov


NH Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food
Mailing: PO Box 2042, Concord NH 03302 -2042
Physical: 25 Capitol Street, Second Floor, Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3551 | fax: (603) 271-1109