New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food Logo
NH Department of Agriculture, Markets, and Food
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Apiaries and Beekeeping Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions regarding apiaries and beekeeping.

Do I need to register my apiary with the state of New Hampshire?

What are the regulations regarding beekeeping in New Hampshire?

What do I have to do to be able to sell my honey and hive products?

Do I need a pesticide applicator's license to treat my bees with medications?

I have a problem with my bees or they died. Can I get my hives inspected? How much does it cost?

What is the procedure to ship or transport bees from New Hampshire to another state?

Are there any beekeeping clubs in New Hampshire?

How can I learn more about beekeeping?

Who can I contact to remove a swarm or colony of honey bees?

back to topDo I need to register my apiary with the state of New Hampshire?

Apiary registration is voluntary in New Hampshire. We encourage beekeepers to register their apiaries for several reasons. The location and contact information can be provided to licensed applicators applying pesticides under special permits, such as for mosquito control, so that beekeepers can be notified of plans to spray in their area. It helps national honey bee organizations, such as the Apiary Inspectors of America, assess the health of the honey bee industry nationwide and develop better methods of honey bee management. It can also be helpful for state and national agricultural statistics and policy, enabling estimates of the size and value of the industry in New Hampshire.

back to topWhat are the regulations regarding beekeeping in New Hampshire?

The laws and rules governing beekeeping in New Hampshire are primarily split into two sections. The first section pertains to beekeeping, whereas the second section pertains to selling honey products.

back to topWhat do I have to do to be able to sell my honey and hive products?

To get you started, please see:

back to topDo I need a pesticide applicator's license to treat my bees with medications?

If a beekeeper is applying pesticides, including miticides, insecticides, fungicides, and antibiotics, in or around the hive to control pests, parasites, or diseases, the beekeeper is required to obtain an annual private applicator permit.pdf file For questions, please contact the Division of Pesticide Control.

back to topI have a problem with my bees or they died. Can I get my hives inspected? How much does it cost?

Please contact us to arrange for an apiary inspection. The fee starts at $5 for up to 10 hives in one apiary location ($5 total, not per hive).

back to topWhat is the procedure to ship or transport bees from New Hampshire to another state?

Many states require a certificate of health or its equivalent to transport bee packages, nuc's, queens, or used beekeeping equipment into their state. Please contact us for more information or to schedule an inspection if you are transporting bees or used beekeeping equipment to another state.

back to topAre there any beekeeping clubs in New Hampshire?

Yes. Please visit the New Hampshire Beekeepers Association website for links to local clubs.

back to topHow can I learn more about beekeeping?

Visit the New Hampshire Beekeepers Association website to find contacts for local beekeeping clubs in your area.

back to topWho can I contact to remove a swarm or colony of honey bees?

Because the list of beekeepers willing to remove honey bees is constantly changing, please use the contacts on the New Hampshire Beekeepers Association website for a referral to a removal service in your area.

Portable Document Format SymbolPortable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


NH Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food
Mailing: PO Box 2042, Concord NH 03302 -2042
Physical: 25 Capitol Street, Second Floor, Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-3551 | fax: (603) 271-1109