New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food
Food Safety Modernization Act — Produce Safety Rule

Qualified Exemption Annual Review & Verification Worksheet

A produce farm may be eligible for a QUALIFIED EXEMPTION from the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) Produce
Safety Rule (21 CFR § 112) if the farm’s annual food sales are less than $500,000 on average over the previous 3 years
(adjusted for inflation) AND majority of these sales are to qualified end-users.

This worksheet may be used to meet the requirement in the Produce Safety Rule (21 CFR § 112.7(b)) that “you must
establish and keep adequate records necessary to determine that your farm satisfies the criteria for a qualified
exemption ... including a written record reflecting that you have performed an annual review and verification of your
farm’s continued eligibility for the qualified exemption.”

To support this record, retain all sales receipts and documents used to determine calculations for this annual review.
The following page provides definitions and defines current inflation-adjusted figures.

Step 1: Record total food sales over the previous 3 years:

Year 1: Total Food Sales: $
Year 2: Total Food Sales: $
Year 3: Total Food Sales: $
Average Total Food Sales: $ (Yr1+Yr2 +Yr3 = Sum divided by 3 = Answer)

Step 2: Record food sales to qualified end-users over the previous 3 years:

Year 1: Food Sales to Qualified End-Users: $
Year 2: Food Sales to Qualified End-Users: $
Year 3: Food Sales to Qualified End-Users: $
Average Food Sales to Qualified End-Users: $ (Yrl +Yr2 + Yr3 = Sum divided by 3 = Answer)

Step 3: Calculate the percentage of food sales to qualified end-users:

Average Food Sales to Qualified End-Users (from Step 2): $

Divided by Average Total Food Sales (from Step 1): S

Multiplied by 100: % (Answers to Step 2 divided by Step 1 x 100 = %)

*If annual total food sales are less than $500,000 AND the percentage of sales to qualified end-users (from
Step 3) is greater than 50%, then your farm is eligible for Qualified Exemption.

Farm Name:

Farm Address:

Reviewed by: Title:

Signature: Date:

This record must be reviewed, dated, and signed by a supervisor or responsible party for your farm to meet the requirements in the
PSR 21 CFR § 112.7(b).
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New Hampshire Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food
What is the Produce Safety Rule?

The Produce Safety Rule is a federal food safety regulation that establishes minimum food safety standards for
farms that grow, harvest, pack or hold produce for human consumption to reduce foodborne illness. To learn
more: Food Safety Modernization Act | Office of the Commissioner | NH Department of Agriculture, Markets and Food

Definitions (21 CFR § 112.3)

Food: All food or drink for human and animal consumption. This includes produce and grain, hay, pies, juices, seeds and
beans used to grow sprouts, etc. (per section 201(f) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act).

Food Sales: All food sales from the farm, including human and animal food.

Qualified End-User: The consumer of the food OR a restaurant or retail food establishment located in the
same state as the farm that produced the food OR within 275 miles of the farm.

Examples of Qualified End-Users include, but are not limited to, the following when the end-user is in the
same state or within 275 miles of the farm: CSA, Farmstand, Grocery Store, or Restaurant.

FDA Produce Safety Rule Inflation Adjusted Cut Offs

For additional cut-offs: FSMA Inflation Adjusted Cut Offs | FDA

Baseline Value for Value in Value in Value in Value in Value in Current 3-year
Cut-offs (2011) 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 Average
$500,000 $568,468 | $575,972 | $602,382 | S644,795 | $668,297 $638,491

Modified Requirements for Qualified Exempt Farms

A farm that is eligible for a Qualified Exemption from the Produce Safety Rule must notify Consumers as to the
complete business address of the farm where the food is grown, harvested, packed, or held. The compliance
date for this requirement was January 1, 2020.

If your farm is eligible for a Qualified Exemption, you must comply with certain modified requirements and
keep documentation as per Sections 112.6 and 112.7 in the rule, including the following subparts:

Subpart A (General Provisions)

Subpart O (Records)

Subpart Q (Compliance and Enforcement)
Subpart R (Withdrawal of Qualified Exemption)
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These subparts can be reviewed electronically: eCFR: 21 CFR Part 112 — Standards for the Growing, Harvesting,
Packing, and Holding of Produce for Human Consumption

Questions? Contact NH Department of Agriculture, Markets & Food, Produce Safety Program

Vickie Smith, Produce Safety Program Planner, Victoria.M.Smith@agr.nh.gov
Debra Bunn, Produce Safety Specialist/Inspector, Debra.E.Bunn@agr.nh.gov
Katherine Dunn-Law, Produce Safety Program Assistant, Katherine.Dunn-Law@agr.nh.gov

This publication is supported by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of a financial assistance
award (FAIN# U2FFD007437) totaling $758,921, with 100% funded by FDA/HHS. The contents are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official
views of, nor an endorsement, by the FDA/HHS, of the U.S. Government.
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